Mahatma Gandhi, wearing simple leather chappals, which he probably made himself.Outside of 10 Downing St., London, 1931
Mahatma Gandhi, wearing simple leather chappals, which he probably made himself.
Outside of 10 Downing St., London, 1931

Diversity and Continuity

Gandhi

I am mostly busy making sandals these days. I have already made about fifteen pairs. When you need new ones, please send me the measurements. And when you do so, mark the places where the strap is to be fixed, that is on the outside of the big toe and the little one.
- Gandhi, in a 1913 letter to Jan Christian Smuts,
State Attorney, later Premier, of South Africa

In jail [Gandhi] had prepared for me a pair of sandals which he presented to me when he was set free. I have worn these sandals for many a summer since then, even though I feel that I am not worthy to stand in the shoes of so great a man.
Jan Christian Smuts (1870 -1950), Premier of South
Africa, as quoted in Mahatma, by D.G. Tendulkar, 1951

India's great national leader Mahatma Gandhi (1869-1948) used the traditional leather sandal, the chappal, as a symbol of Indian self-sufficiency. He wove the cotton cloth, which he wore as a dhoti and made the leather sandals he wore on his feet.

In making cloth and footwear, Gandhi demonstrated a profound understanding of the value of humble crafts, which sustained village life for countless generations. By undertaking shoemaking, which was carried out by some of the lowest castes of labourers, and by dealing with a material, which was ritually polluting, Gandhi set an example of egalitarianism and self-sufficiency which he hoped would influence all of Indian society.
Continue

Bata Shoe Museum
Gandhi portant de simples chappals en cuir, qu'il avait probablement confectionnées lui-même.Devant le 10, Downing Street à Londres en 1931
Gandhi portant de simples chappals en cuir, qu'il avait probablement confectionnées lui-même.
Devant le 10, Downing Street à Londres en 1931

Diversité et continuité

Gandhi

Ces jours-ci, je passe le plus clair de mon temps à fabriquer des sandales. J'en ai confectionné une quinzaine de paires jusqu'à maintenant. Si vous en voulez une paire, envoyez-moi s'il vous plaît les mesures. Indiquez-moi en même temps l'endroit où vous souhaitez que les lanières soient fixées - autrement dit, à l'extérieur du gros orteil et du petit orteil.
- Lettre envoyée par Gandhi en 1913 à Jan Christian Smuts, Procureur et, plus tard, premier ministre d'Afrique du Sud

Pendant qu'il était en prison, il [Gandhi] m'a fabriqué une paire de sandales qu'il m'a offerte à sa libération. Depuis, je les ai portées durant bien des étés, même si je me crois indigne de porter les chaussures d'un si grand homme.
Jan Christian Smuts (1870Ôø‡1950), premier ministre d'Afrique du Sud, cité dans Mahatma de D.G. Tendulkar, 1951

Le grand leader nationaliste indien Gandhi (1869Ôø‡1948), surnommé le Mahatma (« grande âme »), a utilisé la sandale traditionnelle en cuir - la chappal - comme symbole de l'autosuffisance de l'Inde. Il tissait le coton avec lequel il confectionnait ses vêtements (dhoti) et fabriquait lui-même les sandales en cuir qu'il portait.

En confectionnant ainsi ses vêtements et ses chaussures, Gandhi témoignait d'une compréhension profonde de la valeur de tous ces petits métiers qui font vivre les villages indiens depuis d'innombrables générations. Pour lui, fabriquer ses propres chaussures - donc, exercer une activité réservée aux castes inférieures et utiliser un matériau impur aux yeux de la religion hindoue - constituait un exemple d'autosuffisance et d'égalité qui, espérait-il, influencerait la société indienne tout entière.
Continuer