In the house of Radha, Krishna paints his consort's feet with auspicious red lac, popularly called mahawar, a dye extracted from beetles. Radha's attendant is amazed to witness this divine love.Kangra, 19th century.The National Museum, New Delhi 49.19/290
In the house of Radha, Krishna paints his consort's feet with auspicious red lac, popularly called mahawar, a dye extracted from beetles. Radha's attendant is amazed to witness this divine love.
Kangra, 19th century.
The National Museum, New Delhi 49.19/290

Romantic Connotations of the Foot

Hail to that foot of the lusty beloved which hits the head of the lover, that foot which is adorned with red paste and jingling anklets is the banner of love and which is worthy of adoration by inclining one's head.
- From the 5th century drama Padataditakam
(Hit by the Foot)


On the white sands in front of the hermitage door is discerned a fresh line of footsteps, raised in front and depressed behind by the weight of her hips.
- Kalidasa, Shakuntala, 4th to 5th century

Adoration of the foot is both a glorifying and humbling experience. Feet are revered as the support of the body, which makes direct contact with the generative powers of the earth. The foot is also the lowest, potentially most impure and polluting part of the body. A man expresses exclusive devotion by caressing, massaging, and fondling the feet of his beloved. The touch of a woman's foot on her lover's head is a mark of extreme favour.
Continue

Bata Shoe Museum
Dans la maison de Radha, Krishna utilise, pour peindre les pieds de sa compagne, une teinture rouge de bonne augure extraite de la betterave (la lac, vulgairement appelée mahawar). Une servante de Radha est émerveillée d'être témoin de cet amour divin.Kangra, XIXe siècle.Musée national, New Delhi 49.19/290
Dans la maison de Radha, Krishna utilise, pour peindre les pieds de sa compagne, une teinture rouge de bonne augure extraite de la betterave (la lac, vulgairement appelée mahawar). Une servante de Radha est émerveillée d'être témoin de cet amour divin.
Kangra, XIXe siècle.
Musée national, New Delhi 49.19/290

Connotations romantiques du pied

Vive le pied de l'être aimé vigoureux qui frappe la tête de l'amant! Ce pied, peint en rouge et orné de bracelets de cheville qui tintent, est l'étendard de l'amour et est digne qu'on le vénère en inclinant la tête
- Extrait d'une pièce du Ve siècle intitulée Padataditakam
(«Frappé par le pied»)


Sur le sable blanc, devant la porte de l'ermitage, on distingue des traces de pas toutes fraîches - la pointe du pied à peine marquée et le talon creusé par le poids de ses hanches
- Kalidasa, Shakuntala, IVe-Ve siècle

La vénération du pied est à la fois un chant de louange et une marque d'humilité. Les pieds sont vénérés parce qu'ils soutiennent le corps et le mettent en contact direct avec le pouvoir régénérateur de la terre. Le pied est aussi la partie du corps la plus indigne ainsi que la plus grande source possible d'impureté et de corruption. L'homme exprime sa dévotion exclusive en caressant et en massant les pieds de sa bien-aimée. La femme accorde une faveur extrême en touchant de son pied la tête de son amant.
Continuer