Scene based on the eighth chapter of Keshvadasa's Rasikapriya poetry. Here, a lovelorn nayika, or lovely lady, is comforted by her sakhis, or ladies-in-waiting. They fan her, massage her feet and prepare henna or lac to paint her feet.Kangra, Pahari, circa 1800.The National Museum, New Delhi 60.1664
Scene based on the eighth chapter of Keshvadasa's Rasikapriya poetry. Here, a lovelorn nayika, or lovely lady, is comforted by her sakhis, or ladies-in-waiting. They fan her, massage her feet and prepare henna or lac to paint her feet.
Kangra, Pahari, circa 1800.
The National Museum, New Delhi 60.1664
Barber's wife preparing a nayika, or lovely lady, for a tryst with her lover. She prepares a paste of red lac dye or henna with which to paint her lady's feet.Miniature Pahari painting, Kangra, circa 1780Dr. and Mrs. William K. Ehrenfeld, San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Barber's wife preparing a nayika, or lovely lady, for a tryst with her lover. She prepares a paste of red lac dye or henna with which to paint her lady's feet.
Miniature Pahari painting, Kangra, circa 1780
Dr. and Mrs. William K. Ehrenfeld, San Francisco Bay Area, CA
A maid attempts to rub the red dye off the soles of a nayika, or lovely lady's feet, mistaking her naturally rosy colour for faded lac dye. Miniature, ascribed to a Master of the first Generation after Nainsukh of Guler, circa 1790-1800Museum Rietberg ZurichCollection of Eva and Konrad Seitz
A maid attempts to rub the red dye off the soles of a nayika, or lovely lady's feet, mistaking her naturally rosy colour for faded lac dye.
Miniature, ascribed to a Master of the first Generation after Nainsukh of Guler, circa 1790-1800
Museum Rietberg Zurich
Collection of Eva and Konrad Seitz

Romantic Connotations of the Foot

Foot care

Traditionally an Indian woman devotes as much attention to her feet as she does to her face and hair. Feet are bathed and rubbed with scrubbers to remove ingrained dirt and rough skin. They are massaged with scented oils for pleasure and relaxation as well as to maintain a healthy body. The soles are stained red with lac dye or henna. For special occasions the upper foot is painted with elaborate designs and ornamented with jewellery.
Continue

Bata Shoe Museum
Scène inspirée du huitième chapitre du poème Rasikapriya de Keshvadasa. Ici, une jolie dame (nayika) qui se languit d'amour est réconfortée par ses dames de compagnie (sakhis). Elles l'éventent, lui massent les pieds et préparent le henné ou la lac qu'elles utiliseront pour peindre ses pieds.Kangra, Pahari, vers 1800.The National Museum, New Delhi 60.1664
Scène inspirée du huitième chapitre du poème Rasikapriya de Keshvadasa. Ici, une jolie dame (nayika) qui se languit d'amour est réconfortée par ses dames de compagnie (sakhis). Elles l'éventent, lui massent les pieds et préparent le henné ou la lac qu'elles utiliseront pour peindre ses pieds.
Kangra, Pahari, vers 1800.
The National Museum, New Delhi 60.1664
La femme d'un barbier prépare une jolie dame  en vue d'un rendez-vous galant. Elle prépare de la lac rouge ou du henné, qu'elle utilisera pour peindre les pieds de la belle.Miniature Pahari, Kangra, vers 1780Dr et Mme William K. Ehrenfeld, région de la baie de San Francisco (Californie)
La femme d'un barbier prépare une jolie dame en vue d'un rendez-vous galant. Elle prépare de la lac rouge ou du henné, qu'elle utilisera pour peindre les pieds de la belle.
Miniature Pahari, Kangra, vers 1780
Dr et Mme William K. Ehrenfeld, région de la baie de San Francisco (Californie)
Une servante essaie d'effacer la teinture rouge des pieds d'une jolie dame (nayika), confondant la couleur rose de sa peau et la lac décolorée. Miniature attribuée au Maître de la Première Génération après Nainsukh de Guler, vers 1790–1800Musée Rietberg, ZurichCollection Eva et Konrad Seitz
Une servante essaie d'effacer la teinture rouge des pieds d'une jolie dame (nayika), confondant la couleur rose de sa peau et la lac décolorée.
Miniature attribuée au Maître de la Première Génération après Nainsukh de Guler, vers 1790–1800
Musée Rietberg, Zurich
Collection Eva et Konrad Seitz

Connotations romantiques du pied

soins des pieds

La femme indienne a toujours bien pris soin de ses pieds, tout comme de son visage et de ses cheveux, d'ailleurs. Elle prend des bains de pieds et frotte ses pieds à l'aide d'un ponce-pied afin d'enlever la saleté incrustée et la peau durcie. Elle se masse les pieds avec des huiles parfumées par plaisir, pour se détendre et pour garder un corps sain. Elle peint la plante de ses pieds en rouge avec de la lac ou du henné. Lors d'occasions spéciales, elle peint des motifs compliqués sur le dessus de ses pieds, qu'elle orne également de bijoux.
Continuer