Tobacco Society moccasin with horse hoof symbols
Tobacco Society moccasin with horse hoof symbols

Symbolism

Horses

The horse, like the buffalo, was also at the centre of Plains life. Important for success while hunting and during warfare, the horse was also an asset that expressed wealth. The capture of horses in warfare or their gifting was often commemorated on footwear by the symbol of the U-shaped horse hoof. Throughout the Plains, this common symbol can be found on footwear.

Bear

Displaying a symbol of the bear identified the wearer with the powerful bear spirit. This exceptionally rare pair of shoes made from the hind paws of a grizzly bear was most likely used ceremonially.

Thunderbird

The thunderbird was popular as a patron of warriors on the Great Plains. Associated with rain and its attendant thunder and lightning, it was a symbol of supernatural strength. On footwear, the thunderbird symbol may have expressed a wish for success in warfare.

Horns

Horned animals, such as buffalo and elk, played an important role in Great Plains life. Elk horns often refer to the secret society of Elk Dreamers and symbolize the procreative powers of the bull elk. Buffalo horns symbolize the buffalo, an important guardian spirit.
Continue

Bata Shoe Museum
Mocassins de la nation du tabac, ornés de symboles de sabots de cheval
Mocassins de la nation du tabac, ornés de symboles de sabots de cheval

La symbolique

les chevaux

À l'instar su bison, le cheval jouait un rôle crucial dans l'existence des gens des Plaines. Outre son importance en période de guerre et pour la chasse, le cheval était aussi symbole de richesse. La capture de chevaux durant les périodes de conflits était souvent documentée dans le décor des chaussures, au travers d'un symbole évoquant la forme du sabot de l'animal. De par les Plaines, ce symbole se rencontre communément dans le décor des chaussures créées au sein de ce territoire.

l'ours

Le symbole de l'ours indiquait que celui qui le revêtait était habité du puissant esprit de l'animal. Cette paire de chaussures des plus rares, confectionnée à partir des pattes arrière d'un grizzli, fut probablement portée lors de cérémonies.

l'oiseau-tonnerre

L'oiseau-tonnerre veillait sur les guerriers des grandes Plaines. Associé à la pluie et à ses compagnons, le tonnerre et l'éclair, il était symbole de puissance surnaturelle. Dans le décor des chaussures, l'oiseau-tonnerre exprimait peut-être un désir de succès guerrier.

les cornes

Les animaux à cornes, tels le bison et le wapiti, occupaient un rôle important dans l'existence des gens des Plaines. Les cornes de wapiti se rapportent souvent à la société secrète des Rêveurs de wapitis et symbolisent les pouvoirs procréatifs du wapiti mâle. Les cornes de bison évoquent quant à elles l'éminent esprit-gardien que représente cet animal.
Continuer