Print this page

Teacher's Resources

Classroom Activities & Projects

Buddhism and Buddhapada

Level: High school-Grade 11 to 12

Goals:

Description:
For the first centuries after his death, Buddha was represented in art by attributes and symbols - his robe, throne, the bodhi tree under which he attained enlightenment, and his footprints. The adoration of his feet, or Buddhapada became a prominent feature of Buddhist practice.

With your students, examine the stone slab carved with Buddhapada in low relief at the end of the first section 'In the Footsteps of the Divine'. Several Buddhist religious symbols appear on the footprints. In the centre of each foot is the Wheel of the Law, or dharmachakra. The three-pronged triratna at the heel represents the three Jewels of the Buddha's teachings, and includes one of several lotus flowers on the slab. Several swastikas also appear.

Research Topic:
Before the German Nazis appropriated the swastika as a symbol of their movement, it was a universal symbol with positive connotations. Research the swastika as a universal symbol. Find depictions in of swastikas in art from five different ancient cultures.

Bata Shoe Museum
Print this page

Ressources didactiques

Projets et activités en salle de classe

Buddhism and Buddhapada

Niveau : 11e - 12e année

Objectif :

Description :
Pendant le premier siècle après sa mort, certains attributs et symboles de Bouddha étaient représentés dans des œuvres d'arts - sa robe, son trône, l'arbre bodhi sous lequel il atteignait l'Éveillement, et ses empreintes. L'adoration de ces pieds, ou le Buddhapada, est aussi devenue le trait caractéristique principal du Bouddhisme.

Avec vos élèves, examinez la dalle qui contient le Buddhapada à bas relief située à la fin de la première section, "Dans les pas des dieux". Quelques symboles bouddhistes apparaissent sur les empreintes. Le centre de chaque pied révèle la roue de la loi, ou la dharmachakra. Les triratna à trois dents sur le talon représentent les Trois Joyaux de l'enseignement bouddhiste et inclus des fleurs de lotus. Quelques swastikas y apparaissent aussi.

Sujet de recherche :
Avant son utilisation par les Nazis allemands, le swastika était un symbole universel avec des connotations positives. Examinez le swastika comme symbole universel et trouvez sa représentation dans des œuvres d'art de cinq cultures anciennes distinctes.