Print this page

Teacher's Resources

Classroom Activities & Projects

Muslim Mughal Mojari

Level: High school-Grade 11 to 12

Goals:

Description:
Go to the 'Splendour of the Royal Courts of India' section of the web exhibition and locate the jewel-encrusted mojari worn by the Nizam of Hyderabad.

Explain that Muslim Mughals brought the mojari with its exaggerated upturned toe to India from Central Asia in the sixteenth century. Using the 3D feature, rotate the shoe to see that the shoe has been constructed so that the back of the shoe, or quarter, is then flattened to make a backless shoe, or mule. Because Muslims pray five times a day, footwear that is easily removed has traditionally been favoured. The practice of wearing mules may have originated from people pushing down the backs of their shoes to simplify their removal when preparing for prayer. The fact that footwear in the Islamic world is often made with quarters that are glued down, could be a subtle expression of the wearer's piety.

A level of opulence previously unseen in India prevailed during the Mughal's two-century reign. Their legacy was the conversion of millions to the religion of Islam, and the adoption of styles and aesthetics by Muslims and Hindus alike.

The Nizam of Hyderabad wore this pair of mojari in the early 19th century. Hyderabad broke away from the Mughal Empire in 1724 and was an independent, Islamic kingdom in the 19th century ruled by the Nizam.

Research Topic:
Research the role of prayer in the religion of Islam. Include a discussion of prayer times and direction, prayer rugs, the need for ablutions, the call to prayer etc.

Bata Shoe Museum
Print this page

Ressources didactiques

Projets et activités en salle de classe

Mojori Musulman Mughal

Niveau : 11e - 12e année

Objectif :

Description :
Allez à la section de l'exposition web "Splendeur des cours royales de l'Inde" et trouvez le majori incrusté de bijoux porté par le Nizam de Hyderabad.

Expliquez qu'au XVIe siècle les Musulmans Mughal ont apporté de l'Asie Centrale en Inde le majori avec son orteil exagérément inversé. En manipulant l'image 3D, tournez le soulier afin de montrer qu'il a été construit avec un "talon", ou un quart, qui est applati pour créer un soulier sans dos semblable à une mule. Vu que les Musulmans prient cinq fois par jour, des souliers qui se déchaussent facilement sont traditionnellement préférés. Il est possible que le porter des mules a commencé avec des gens qui écrasaient le dos de leurs souliers afin de les enlever facilement en se préparant pour la prière. Dans le monde islamique, le fait que les chaussures sont généralement fabriquées avec des quarts malgré le fait qu'ils sont collés, démontre subtilement la piété du porteur.

Pendant le règne Mughal qui dura deux siècles, un niveau d'oppulence inédit persistait en Inde. Leurs legs incluent des millions de conversion à la religion islamique et l'adoption égale de styles et d'esthétique par les musulmans et les Hindous.

Le Nizam de Hyderabad porta ses majori au début du XIXe siècle. Hyderabad s'était séparé de l'Empire Mughal en 1724 et était un royaume islamique indépendant durant le règne du Nizam au XIXe siècle.

Sujet de recherche :
Examinez le rôle de la prière dans la religion islamique. Entamez une discussion sur les éléments suivants: temps et directive de prière, tapis de prière, le besoin d'absolution, l'appel à la prière etc.